on the holidays

It’s that time of year again. The time where I’m usually blue and feeling a sense of longing for the normal holidays I see splattered all over stories and posts on Facebook and Instagram.

However, I’m trying to keep my mood lifted this holiday season. I’m not saying I don’t feel all the same sad feelings, I do, but this time I’m using these feelings as a source of optimism. I’m imagining what it will be like to have my own children and husband that I can share the ideal holiday time with. We’d gather together every year, make food, laugh, and do all the corny things I hate to see on social media right now.

One day, I’ll create my own normalcy. Until then, this Thanksgiving day, I’ll be doing my yearly gratitude run in the morning and spending quality time with my mother. Just the two of us and my dog. Life has not always been ideal for me, and is not always ideal for most people. That doesn’t mean we can’t dream of a day in which we are surrounded by loved ones, carving a turkey, and feeling the sweet bliss of familial happiness.

Leave a comment