the five remembrances and me (pt 3)

I’ve covered two remembrances so far, so here is the third I’d like to explore more in depth:

I am of the nature to have ill health.  There is no way to escape ill health.

I chose this remembrance today because my mental health has been roller-coastering since last summer.  I’ve experience ups, downs, wins, losses, and everything in between.  Anxiety attacks could, and would, stop me in my path as if they were made of brick.  One may not consider the mind when considering health, but once the mind is unwell, all other functions are lost.  My motivation, happy demeanor, energy levels, and overall will are zapped from me as if suctioned out by a powerful vacuum.  The smallest things- showering, walking my dog, exercising- and the bigger things- going to work and applying to graduate school- all lose their importance in my mind.  During the downs, my days are laced with apathy, hopelessness, and above all, sleepiness.

However, it is important to do what you can to pull yourself out of this mental state.  Being sad, being anxious, being all of these negative things becomes an endless cycle resulting in becoming more sad, more anxious, more negative.  It takes true grit to snap out of the dark times, to find happiness in a cup of coffee, birds singing, or a message from a friend.  Having mental fortitude is a skill to be practiced every day.  If you know your health, or your mental health, will experience illness at some point, you can build an arsenal of happiness to use to pull yourself out of the darkness.  You may not be able to escape succumbing to anxiety, depression, or any other illness you experience, but you can be in control of how you handle it.

Knowing happy times are on the horizon is another exercise I practice.   I mindfully daydream of times when I will be financially secure and working in a career I love.  A time where I will have a family and friends who love me more than I could ever hope for.  I tell myself if I stay positive and keep working toward my goals, things will turn out in my favor- even if they do not seem to be in the moment.  Along with the gifts of the future, it is important to be grateful for the gifts you have today.  I have a loving boyfriend, a few close friends, a sweet/crazy dog, a roof over my head, and a job in my field.  Life is already slowly turning my way, all I need is the patience to see it through.

One of the hardest parts of life is mastering your own mind, so do not be hard on yourself for the downs.  They are unavoidable.  Just know that one day when you’ve survived so many downs to experience so many ups, you will be better equipped to handle the next down because you will know it will pass just like all the others.

 

Leave a comment