late night anxiety

I’m laying in bed in this empty hotel room counting down the hours left until I have to wake up (three at the moment). Although I’m wrapped in a blanket, surrounded by my usual fort of pillows, and shrouded by darkness, I feel restless. My mind is alert, my heart is racing. I’m thinking of the two tests this week, my period cramps ailing me, how I’m going to navigate being a flight attendant while still managing my life, the list goes on. I tried scrolling through Instagram, watching relaxing YouTube videos, drinking water, and laying with my eyes closed, all to no avail. Why does the mind plague you with worries when all your body needs is rest? The worst part of sleepless nights is that the anxiety is cyclical. First, the anxiety keeps me from sleeping, then I’m feeling more anxious because I know this lack of sleep will negatively impact me tomorrow, then I have additional anxiety added to the original anxiety that ruined my possibility of sleep in the first place. And so it goes. This positive feedback loop is infuriating, leaving me helplessly wishing for sleep to take me into its warm embrace. T minus two and a half hours until morning. Wish me luck, friends.

2 thoughts on “late night anxiety

  1. It is Hell. I am so sorry. The pressure you feel to sleep prevents sleep. The more you want to sleep, the more it will elude you. Try positive fantasies that involve your mind, your ideal home that you build from the ground up, a vacation you want to go on, meeting an ideal guy, winning an academy award and what you won it for, what you wore, anything that is fun for you, detailed, and engages your mind in positive thinking. Mental stories that you enjoy fantasizing about help distract you from worrying that you are not sleeping. Affirming self talk helps too, “Lack of sleep won’t derail me. I can rest and engage in relaxing fantasies and my body will get needed rest.” OTC Melatonin and unisom can help and so can magnesium taurate, talk to your doctor about this though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment