the five remembrances and me (pt 1)

On my mind today are the five remembrances of Buddha. Keeping these short statements in mind will help me live my life with cool acceptance of all things, good and bad, that happen to me along the way.

Today, I have this remembrance on my mind, as it relates to my current status in life:

All that is dear to me and everyone I love are of the nature to change. There is no way to escape being separated from them.

I try so hard to hold on to people in my life because of the fear of losing fond memories shared with them. However, I should remind myself that all people and things will change around me, and most of them will become separate to me. Holding onto people in their midst of change is unhealthy, both for me and the other person. Holding onto situations and things will weigh me down and prevent me from growing into who I’m supposed to be.

I would love for my loved ones to always be with me, but violating the nature of things will only cause pain. If I can accept that not all relationships are permanent, and all relationships are forever changing, it will be easier to accept when these things do happen. Perhaps I could become a better lover by allowing myself and my partner to grow, knowing change is par for the course. Perhaps I could grow myself by accepting opportunity as it comes, with no fear of change, because life is change.

Leave a comment